Fact File

- Country name Republic of South Africa
- Location Southern Africa, with Atlantic Ocean on the west and Indian Ocean on the east
- Capital cities Pretoria (executive); Cape Town (legislative); Bloemfontein (judicial)
- Other major cities Johannesburg, Durban, Port Elizabeth
- **Area** 471,008 square miles (1,219,912 square kilometers);
- **Population** 43,647,658
- Religion Christian: 68%; Muslim: 2%; Hindu: 1.5%; Indigenous and animist beliefs:
 28.5%
- Languages English widely spoken; 11 official languages: English, Zulu, Xhosa, Afrikaans, Ndebele, Pedi, Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, and Venda
- Type of government Republic
- Administrative divisions 9 provinces
- Currency Rand
- Industries Mining, automobile assembly, metalworking, machinery, textiles, fertilizer, foodstuff
- Primary exports Gold, diamonds, wool, sugar, fruit
- Imports Machinery, electrical equipment, computers